
Wages
Minimum Wage Rate
For each hour of working time for all employees in these occupations: $15.13 per hour beginning January 1, 2024

Display this poster in a conspicuous place

Enforced by: Division of Wage and Hour Compliance • NJ Department of Labor and  
Workforce Development  • PO Box 389 • Trenton, NJ 08625-0389 • 609-292-2305 
This and other required employer posters are available free online at nj.gov/labor.
If you need this document in Braille or large print, call 609-292-2305. TTY users can contact 
this department through the New Jersey Relay: 7-1-1.
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New Jersey Wage and Hour Law Governing Employment in

Hotel & Motel Occupations Order No.3

Food Service and Other Occupations in Which  
Gratuities are Customary
Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act 
must pay the Federal cash wage rate of $5.13 and 
must demonstrate that the balance of the minimum 
wage required under State law is paid through gratuities 
in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8.  
Employers not subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act 
must demonstrate that the total wage, including cash and 
gratuities, equals the minimum wage required under State 
law in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8. 
Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:56-8.4(b), tips are the property 
of the employee who received them. This means that no 
portion of tip monies may be diverted by the employer 
to offset the cost of credit card fees, or for any other 
reason.

Overtime Rates
Overtime at one and one‑half times the regular hourly wage 
rate shall be paid for all hours worked in excess of forty 
(40) in any week starting November 1, 1970.

Definitions
1. Hotel & Motel Occupations. The term “Hotel 
and Motel Occupations” shall mean any activity 
as an employee for an establishment kept, used, 
maintained, advertised as or held out to be a place 
where sleeping accommodations are supplied for 
pay to transient or permanent guests, in which fifteen 
or more rooms are available for rental furnished 
or unfurnished; except this definition shall not 
include summer camps and country clubs when 
these activities are not part of a hotel or motel 
establishment.

2. Seasonal Hotels & Motels. Those in which, during 
the previous business year, not less than two‑thirds of 
the gross receipts is received in a continuous period of 
three months or less.

3. Regular Hourly Wage. The term “Regular Hourly 
Wage” shall mean the amount that an employee is 
regularly paid for each hour of work as determined by 
dividing the total hours of work during the week into 
the employee’s total earnings for the week, exclusive 
of overtime premium pay.

Administrative Regulations
Employer substantiation of gratuities received by an 
employee and the cost of food and lodging shall be as 
provided in this order, the law and regulations.

Food and lodging supplied to employees shall not be 
included in wages for those hours worked in excess of 
forty (40) hours per week.

Where cash wages have been established as a condition 
of employment through agreement between the employer 
and employee, gratuities, food and lodging shall not be 
included as a part of such cash wages.

Meals and lodging which the employer requires 
the employee to accept shall be considered for the 
convenience of the employer and the cost thereof shall not 
be considered applicable as minimum wages.

Regulations previously promulgated under N.J.S.A. 
34:11‑56a et seq., not in conflict with this wage order, are 
applicable.

Penalties
Any employer who violates any provisions of this act 
shall be guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon 
conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100 
nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions 
provided by law for offense the Commissioner is 
authorized to assess and collect administrative penalties, 
up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a 
maximum of $500 for each subsequent violation.

The employer shall also pay the commissioner an 
administrative fee on wages equal to not less than 10% or 
more than 25% of any wages due to employees.

Penalties for violation of this order are provided for by 
N.J.S.A. 34:11‑56a22.

Effective Date
New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law - Order No. 3 
promulgated under the provisions of N.J.S.A. 34:11-
56a et seq. became effective November 6, 1968, and 
subsequently as amended at N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4.

Court Interpretation Re: Gratuities
Pursuant to the mandate of the Superior Court of New 
Jersey, Appellate Division, dated March 25, 1969, these 
regulations were modified on the 11th day of April, 1969, 
as follows:

The cash wage rates established in this order shall be 
acceptable in those occupations where gratuities, or food, 
and/or lodging are actually received. In no event shall this 
paragraph be construed to deny to an employee the right 
to claim additional compensation, or to an employer to 
claim a credit in excess of that so established where it is 
proven to the satisfaction of the Department that the actual 
amount of the gratuities received is either more or less 
than the amount of credit herein established.

NOTE: Food service occupations not in hotels or motels 
are covered by the Food Service Occupations Regulations 
effective August 8, 1968, as amended by statute.


